Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Recording Window names instead of mouse coordinates?
Hello,

I am new to QM. One reason I might like to prefer QM over alternatives is the recorder. I recorded this script:

Code:
Copy      Help
int w1=act(win("RegexBuddy" "TFormRegexBuddy"))
lef 296 255 w1 1 ;;TdxTabContainerDockSite 'Use'
lef 338 257 w1 1 ;;TdxTabContainerDockSite 'Library'

One thing I noticed is that it is recording mouse coordinates. In some of my applications, things move around (even in the client area), and thus cannot be reliably located by pixel coordinates. I see that the recorder also is adding (what I think are) comments to the recorded script. These seem to identify Windows by their Class and Text. Is there a way to ask Quick Macros to record a script which references the Class and Text by default instead of using mouse coordinates? I did not see such an option. I did also read the help documentation about Recording but did not see anything immediately related to this concern.

Thanks!
The comments actually are created from various information sources, mostly from accessible object info.
You can set the recorder to record coordinates relative to controls, but not to accessible objects.
Controls are child windows in a window. Accessible objects are smaller objects in a window or control.
To create code to click accessible object, use "Accessible object actions" dialog. It's in the floating toolbar.
Thank you for the information. I can see that these single-step recorders (Window, Control, Accessible Object, HTML Element, Image, etc...) can be very useful, each in their own right. It would perhaps be too complicated to use all these information sources in the general purpose recorder. But still... it is something to think about for the future. An "accessibility" mode of the recorder which tries its best to track interactions by window/control/class/role/accessibility attributes and not by coordinates. Okay, enough about that.