Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Source Control
Does QuickMacros have any options for source control, revision control, or versioning of source code?
No.
Hi -

I'm looking at using git for source control for qml files. I know that qml files are binary and not text - so merge is something I don't want to attempt. But it would be useful to support diff and from this git documentation http://git-scm.com/book/ch7-2.html I was wondering if there was a way to set up an external program to create the diff. For this I'd like to understand the grammar of the files. It looks like there is some type of binary header for each macro - something like
^@^@macroname^@^@<number> <number>
On one level - if I just filter out the ^@ perhaps the diffs would be meaningful enough. Would this be a good start or is there a better approach?

Thanks. I'm very new to QuickMacros (I'm working with Dr. Stuart Pomerantz).

Sean
I can explain .qml format. It is mostly text, but text items are separated with one or several binary bytes.

But maybe more useful would be to have functions to convert .qml to text, eg XML, and back? I'll create the functions if need.

In some new QM version QM will use completely different file format, maybe Sqlite database. Because .qml is too limited.
Convert .qml (QM file) to .xml
Convert .qml (QM file) to .xml
I think this might work but I'm doing something wrong. When I try to compile the code I get
Error in Macro: CLSID is unknown.

Here are the steps that I've followed:
  • In the File menu - selected Open/New File
    Pasted in the code QmlToXml
    (optional) Click on console "Click here to correct the pasted code"
    Then select Compile from the Run menu.

This results in the error above.

When I enter
Code:
Copy      Help
C:\Development\RadFusion>"c:\program files (x86)\quick macros 2\qmcl.exe" M "QmlToXml" A  QmlToXml.qml test.xml
there is no output.

I'm running this on a 64 bit Windows 7 machine.
Replace
IXml x._create
to
IXml x=CreateXml