Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Custom Toolbar intermittently crashing
Hi, this is my first time posting here, so please forgive me if I am posting this question in the wrong place.

I created a simple toolbar that is used to enter various text strings into any textbox or other place where you can normally type. The idea is to create form letters and/or parts of messages that can be entered into any window by clicking on the various toolbar buttons.

Here is an example of the function that does the copy paste of the text strings - it would be labeled "TEXT_1"

Code:
Copy      Help
_s="This is a test of copying text to the clipboard then pasting it into wherever the cursor was left or the current active window"; _s.setclip()
key Cv

I used this method since I am working across an RDP session (to a 3rd party server), so I cannot use SetText or any other direct method of entering the desired text. I encounter the crashing even if I am entering the text into a notepad window running on my local windows 10 desktop. This happens in Windows 10 Pro, or on a Surface Pro 3 tablet running Windows 8 Pro, it seems to consistently crash regardless of which computer it is running on, and it crashes the local OS, not the remote session. I designed it on my local computer, testing it in notepad, but the remote user mostly uses it to enter text into apps running on a remote server thru RDP.

Here is a sample of my main toolbar:

Code:
Copy      Help
Category 1:mac "CAT1"
Category 2:mac "CAT2"
Category 3:mac  "CAT3"

Here is an example of the "Category 1" menu

Code:
Copy      Help
Text String 1:mac "TEXT_1"
Text String 2:mac "TEXT_2"
Text String 3:mac "TEXT_3"

Clicking on the "Category 1" button in the toolbar would open up the Menu that has 3 buttons, "Text String 1", "Text String 2" and "Text String 3". Then when you click on the "Text String 1" button in the menu that opened, it performs the copy/paste of the corresponding text string (in the example I provided above).